Southport’s Matthew Baldwin underway at USGA Open

Southport’s Matthew Baldwin in the mix at USGA Open

Oakmont Country Club bared its teeth as the leaderboard closed up on a weather-interrupted first day of the US Open.

Southport‘s Matthew Baldwin who plays out of Royal Birkdale is on +3 after completing 17 holes of round one.

Lee slattery, being an afternoon starter has yet to tee it up.

The last time the event was played here in 2007, Angel Cabrera won with a five over total and many, including Masters Tournament winner Danny Willett, had predicted a similar winning score this week.

American Andrew Landry had threatened to make a mockery of those predictions as he reached five under after 13 holes but back-to-back bogeys on the seventh and eighth saw his lead cut to one when play was suspended for the day at 3.51pm.

Only nine players were able to complete their first rounds with 78 – all of the scheduled afternoon starters – yet to tee off.

World Number 624 Landry was three under and playing the ninth – his last – when the hooter sounded, with two-time Masters winner Bubba Watson and New Zealander Danny Lee a shot back.


Click here for The full US Open leaderboard

Tee-off times and groupings for Friday’s first round

(All times BST; a=amateur, players from US unless stated)

Starting from the first hole

11:45 – Lee Slattery (England), Miguel Tabuena (Philippines), Daniel Summerhays

11:56 – Sebastian Soderberg (Sweden), Zach Edmondson, Kent Bulle

12:07 – Tony Finau, Alex Noren (Sweden), Jason Kokrak

12:18 – Max Kieffer (Germany), Gary Stal (France), Kevin Tway

12:29 – Cameron Smith (Australia), Steven Bowditch (Australia), a-Derek Bard

12:40 – Jim Herman, Smylie Kaufman, William McGirt

12:51 – Brandt Snedeker, Bill Haas, Billy Horschel

13:02 – Brooks Koepka, Chris Wood (England), Justin Thomas

13:13 – Kevin Kisner, Charl Schwartzel (South Africa), Branden Grace (South Africa)

13:24 – Phil Mickelson, Justin Rose (England), Henrik Stenson (Sweden)

13:35 – Retief Goosen (South Africa), Keegan Bradley, Lucas Glover

13:46 – Andy Pope, a-Sam Burns, Matt Marshall

13:57 – Tyler Raber, a-Christopher Crawford, Austin Jordan

17:30 – Andres Gonzales, a-Scottie Scheffler, Derek Fathauer

17:41 – Andrew Landry, Matthew Baldwin (England), D.J. Trahan

17:52 – Rob Oppenheim, Dicky Pride, Wes Short Jr.

18:03 – Patton Kizzire, Yuta Ikeda (Japan), David Lingmerth (Sweden)

18:14 – Hideto Tanihara (Japan), Gregory Bourdy (France), Kevin Streelman

18:25 – a-Jon Rahm (Spain), James Hahn, Robert Streb

18:36 – Thomas Aiken (South Africa), Jeff Maggert, David Toms

18:47 – Marc Leishman (Australia), Jimmy Walker, Paul Casey (England)

18:58 – Lee Westwood (England), Luke Donald (England), Martin Kaymer (Germany)

19:09 – Russell Knox (Scotland), Harris English, Jason Dufner

19:20 – Zach Johnson, Bryson DeChambeau, Jordan Spieth

19:31 – Kevin Foley, Gregor Main, Mark Anguiano

19:42 – a-Kyle Mueller, Derek Chang, Richie Schembechler

Starting from the 10th hole

11:45 – Peter Hanson (Sweden), Tim Wilkinson (New Zealand), Thitiphun Chuayprakong (Thailand)

11:56 – Billy Hurley III, Jeev Milkha Singh (India), J.J. Henry

12:07 – Brendan Steele, Soren Kjeldsen (Denmark), Jaco Van Zyl (South Africa)

12:18 – Anirban Lahiri (India), Scott Piercy, Jamie Donaldson (Wales)

12:29 – Spencer Levin, Toru Taniguchi (Japan), Carlos Ortiz (Mexico)

12:40 – Ryan Moore, Andrew Sullivan (England), Charley Hoffman

12:51 – Hideki Matsuyama (Japan), Sergio Garcia (Spain), Dustin Johnson

13:02 – Webb Simpson, Graeme McDowell (Northern Ireland), Geoff Ogilvy (Australia)

13:13 – Ernie Els (South Africa), Jim Furyk, Angel Cabrera (Argentina)

13:24 – Kiradech Aphibarnrat (Thailand), Kim Kyung-tae (South Korea), Kevin Na

13:35 – Jason Day (Australia), Louis Oosthuizen (South Africa), Adam Scott (Australia)

13:46 – Aaron Wise, Ethan Tracy, Brandon Harkins

13:57 – a-Justin Suh, T.J. Howe, Frank Adams

17:30 – Denny McCarthy, Aron Price (Australia), Mikael Lundberg (Sweden)

17:41 – a-Nick Hardy, Mike Van Sickle; Tom Hoge

17:52 – Patrick Rodgers, a-Sam Horsfield (England), Andrew Johnston (England)

18:03 – Justin Hicks, Soren Hansen (Denmark), Jason Allred

18:14 – Romain Wattel (France), Kang Sung-hoon (South Korea), Yusaku Miyazato (Japan)

18:25 – Bernd Wiesberger (Austria), Matteo Manassero (Italy), Daniel Berger

18:36 – Matt Kuchar, Bubba Watson, Patrick Reed

18:47 – Rafa Cabrera-Bello (Spain), J.B. Holmes, Kevin Chappell

18:58 – Matthew Fitzpatrick (England), Danny Lee (New Zealand), An Byeong-hun (South Korea)

19:09 – Rory McIlroy (Northern Ireland), Danny Willett (England), Rickie Fowler

19:20 – Chris Kirk, Emiliano Grillo (Argentina), Shane Lowry (Ireland)

19:31 – Mike Miller, Matthew Borchert, a-Charlie Danielson

19:42 – Chase Parker, a-Ryan Stachler, Patrick Wilkes-Krier

Never want to miss the latest golf news? You can now add this sport and all the other sports and teams you follow to your personalised My Sport home.

Submit News Contact us with your community, business or sport news. Phone 07581350321




Breaking local news as it happens, searchable archives with photographs, the ability to instantly comment on news articles – there are so many advantages to OTS (Onthespot) News.

If you want your news read locally online then send it to – relying only on the newspaper is to restrict yourself to an ever reducing audience.