Non-executive directors appointed at Trust 

The NHS Trust Development Authority has confirmed the appointment of Carol Baxter and Ann Pennell as non-executive directors of Southport and Ormskirk Hospital NHS Trust.

Professor Carol Baxter’s career has embraced the public sector in a variety of roles, including as a nurse-advisor to central government departments, national and international agencies and as a professor of nursing. She was also Head of Equality, Diversity and Human Rights at NHS Employers from 2005 to 2014.

Ann Pennell has more than 15 years’ experience at a senior director level in local government and has held a number of Board level management positions working closely with the NHS in children and young people’s services; social care; and housing, education and regeneration.

Carol and Ann have been appointed for two years each and are entitled to receive a remuneration of £6,157 a year. Carol’s term of office runs from 1 February to 31 January 2018 and Ann’s from 22 December 2015 to 21 December 2017.

They succeed Rodney Dykes, who had completed the maximum tenure on the Board of eight years, and Caroline Whalley-Hunter who leaves after three years.

Trust Chair Sue Musson said: “I am delighted to welcome Carol and Ann. They bring a wealth of experience which I know will be of great benefit to the Trust, its staff and patients.”

Non-executive appointments to NHS trusts made by the NHS Trust Development Authority are subject to the Code of Practice of the Commissioner for Public Appointments.

The current members of the Board are listed on the Trust website.


Submit News Contact us with your community, business or sport news. Phone 07581350321




Breaking local news as it happens, searchable archives with photographs, the ability to instantly comment on news articles – there are so many advantages to OTS (Onthespot) News.

If you want your news read locally online then send it to – relying only on the newspaper is to restrict yourself to an ever reducing audience.